The Shannara Chronicles 1×01-2 | Episode Review

I was highly anticipating The Shannara Chronicles, but I also had my reservations about it. MTV hasn’t had a huge fantasy show as of yet and Teen Wolf has been going to the dump for awhile now. The promos for the show looked fantastic, which was what got me so excited for this one. I haven’t read the books, but I may still give them a shot.
The pilot aired with episodes 1 and 2. Sometimes that doesn’t always work and leads to it being very boring, but it worked really well for this show. The 2 hour pilot aided in the world building. The sets look absolutely beautiful and the costumes are freaking awesome. It looks like a more modern and sexy version of Lord of the Rings. I was kind of drooling over some of the outfits. I really want to get elf ears now just so I can get the ear cuff things.

I think the storytelling of the world’s history could have been better. I get that they probably want to hint at a history now to use for future plots, but it did come across as a bit confusing and as if the characters knew so much more than the audience.

I liked that there are three main storylines with Wil, Amberle, and Eretria. Amberle and Eretria are fantastic characters already. They are dynamic and strong. I am excited to see where the show takes these two characters. Austin Butler is probably one of my main complaints with this show. He just isn’t a very good actor. Everything is so dramatic with him and really over done. I hope that they make him less of a useless tool in future episodes so that I like him more. But the girls are A+. I also liked some of the supporting characters such as Allanon, who my brother informed me was in Spartacus. I liked Amberle’s uncle Ander. I think I need some more time to see the rest of the supporting cast though.

I wish that this wasn’t on MTV because as a Game of Thrones fan I am missing the violence and mature content. There is violence, but they never showed it head on and instead opted for shots that showed blood but never full on. I guess this is good for younger viewers who are a bit too put off by Game of Thrones or if you aren’t a fan of in your face violence that goes places, obviously there is sword fighting and death but not as close your eyes look away worthy as GoT.

I am really impressed with the look of the demons. They kind of look like the orcs from Lord of the Rings mixed with scary vampires. I kind of expected them to be really cheesy but they are pretty scary. The changeling thing wasn’t as good, but the main one is gross and I appreciate that. Just look at his gnarly face!

Overall, I am pleasantly surprised with The Shannara Chronicles. You can tell I’ve been watching too much Netflix because I was dying for episode 3 and wishing I could just binge watch it. If you love fantasy books definitely give this show a shot. I am excited to see where it goes.

Episode Grade: 8.5/10
 
The Shannara Chronicles airs Tuesdays at 10/9c on MTV
 
Did you watch the pilot? What did you think? If you didn’t, do you still plan on watching?
*Originally published on DanaSquare
Leave a Reply

