Titans by Victoria Scott | Review

Titans Cover 400x600Title: Titans

Author: Victoria Scott

Genre: YA Science Fiction

Pages: 320

Format: ARC

Received: For Review from Publisher

Release Date: February 23, 2016 by Scholastic 


Book Description:

From Victoria Scott, author of FIRE & FLOOD, comes a thrilling story of impossible odds. Ever since the Titans first appeared in her Detroit neighborhood, Astrid Sullivan’s world has revolved around the mechanical horses. She and her best friend have spent countless hours watching them and their jockeys practice on the track. It’s not just the thrill of the race. It’s the engineering of the horses and the way they’re programmed to seem so lifelike. The Titans are everything that fascinates Astrid, and nothing she’ll ever touch. She hates them a little, too. Her dad lost everything betting on the Titans. And the races are a reminder of the gap between the rich jockeys who can afford the expensive machines to ride, and the working class friends and neighbors of Astrid’s who wager on them. But when Astrid’s offered a chance to enter an early model Titan in this year’s derby, well, she decides to risk it all. Because for a girl from the wrong side of the tracks, it’s more than a chance at fame or money. Betting on herself is the only way she can see to hang on to everyone in the world she cares about.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble 

Titans was one of my most anticipated reads since I heard about it, but it sadly fell short for me. I love Victoria Scott’s previous books, especially the Fire & Flood series, but this one just wasn’t as good. This is one of the rare occasions where a book should have been a series. Titans could have been aided by multiple books to help build the story.

Conceptually, I really enjoyed this book. The world building was phenomenal. I could read a whole book of Titans descriptions. I just wish that I would have been able to connect to the characters like I could to the horses. I wish that this wasn’t a book that seemed like it worked on the outline of Fire & Flood, but with Titans.

Scott spends a lot of time trying to make this book about Astrid’s friendship and while I would normally love that, it just didn’t when her best friend, Magnolia, was too annoying. I wanted her to go away most of the time. There is a lot of time spent building chemistry between Astrid and this boy, for him to end up with her best friend. I wouldn’t have a problem with their being no romance, but the way it occurred bothered me.I did like Astrid and the dynamic of her family was really interesting.

I wish there was more time spent expanding everything. There was jumps over races and the races themselves went too fast. I just wanted more.  Victoria Scott is definitely a series writer and Titans could have been improved by that.

In some ways this story was lacking quite a bit for me, but I would still recommend it. It was a fun and fast read; it was my vacation read. I know that I overhyped this book for myself, but the greatness of Fire & Flood also impeded my love for Titans.

*Also posted on DanaSquare

Leave a Reply

