The Walking Dead Episode 6×12 “Not Tomorrow Yet”| Episode Review

This week’s episode of The Walking Dead had my heart racing the entire time. There was way too much foreshadowing for someone to not be extremely anxious. This new plot line scares me. This show never scares me from the zombies, but when I think that a character that I love is going to die I tend to cover my eyes with a blanket in hopes that if I don’t see it, perhaps it isn’t happening.

walking-dead-6-12The episode started off focusing on Carol and there was a strong following of her throughout the rest of the episode. For the first time since badass Carol took over, we are seeing a vulnerable side of her. We know how this world works, you kill or get killed, but that murder still doesn’t weigh heavily on the characters. Carol is one of the characters who learned this early on. I really liked the touch of Carol putting a cookie on Sam’s grave and the hint at a future romance for Carol. It has been so long since Carol’s daughter died, but it was great to see that coming back to her and the viewer.

the-walking-dead-6-episodio-12-6x12Maggie, girl what are you doing? I’m pretty sure Carol was going to say something like this at some point during the episode. It’s not that she’s incapable of doing anything as a pregnant woman, but really? She is carrying their future and they want to jeopardize that.

Andrew Lincoln as Rick Grimes - The Walking Dead _ Season 6, Episode 11 - Photo Credit: Gene Page/AMC

The compound attack was done really well and had a ton of emotion in it, especially from Glenn who had his first kill this week. There was great attention to minor characters and their take on murder in the apocalypse. This was the time that I spent covering my eyes with a blanket, expecting the worst. My favorite part was the use of Arsonist’s Lullabye by Hozier, <em>The Walking Dead</em> rarely has memorable songs like this but this was a standout for me. Morgan was dealing with his stuff this week and we saw him breakdown while building something, possibly a real jail, during this song. I’m just done with him at this point.

And then the episode ends on the note that Carol and Maggie were kidnapped, by a female voice, of whoever was left at the Savior’s compound. Good going, guys. Michonne asks, “which ones Negan?” which at this point is dramatic irony because we all know that Jeffery Dean Morgan wasn’t there.

Rating: 5/10

The Walking Dead airs Sunday’s at 9p.m. EST on AMC

Leave a Reply

