Wynonna Earp 1×01 “Purgatory” |Episode Review

wynonnaearp-blastr-e1459631107558The pilot for Wynonna Earp, titled Purgatory, was unexpectedly fantastic. Syfy has really been stepping up their game with their new programming. All of their shows always look unique and cool, but I rarely keep up with them, except for FaceOff, which I am fully addicted to. I had seen the commercial advertisement for this new show and was very much intrigued. I looked it up and found that it was an adaptation from a comic book. I set my DVR and hoped for the best, and I was completely surprised by how great this show was.

WynonnaEarp_Blog_101_03 The show starts off with a scene that is out of a movie like Jeepers Creepers, you never get off the bus, and immediately you are submerged into this new world. Wynonna is a highly developed right from the get go. She is Buffy Summers and Dean Winchester’s love child, with her badass style and sassy attitude.

I don’t know much about Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday, but the show is written in such a way that you don’t need to. It has an interesting tone and setting direction. There aren’t many western/ paranormal shows on right now or anything close to it. I am excited to see how the mythology of this show progresses, especially in the plot line of a government agency condoning and knowing about the existence of demons.

Wynonna-Earp-TV-show-on-Syfy-season-1-canceled-or-renewedWynonna and Waverly have that same relationship of Dean and Sam, except Waverly has so much more agency and likability than Sam does. Wynonna Earp feels very much like Supernatural, except with women and a western vibe, which equates to me being like “hell yes” I will watch this show.

I have a feeling this is going to be my new favorite under rated show that I spend all of my time trying to get people to watch and I’ve only seen one episode so far.

Rating: 9/10

Wynonna Earp airs 10pm EST on Syfy

Leave a Reply

