NYC Teen Author Festival Book Signing Recap

iuBciOrRUkj6bcwzRS5AThe NYC Teen Author Festival, which was held in March,  concluded with a mega signing at the amazing independent children’s bookstore Books of Wonder. There were 60, or so, authors in attendance spread across five different signings. It was four glorious hours of young adult booknerd heaven.

This is my second signing at Books of Wonder and I love how organized they are. They gave out signing tickets with purchase of any YA book. There was plenty of knowledgable and really nice staff on hand. The event was perfectly timed and ran quite smoothly. My only problem was that I had brought with me a book for an author who just didn’t show up. There was one author announced early on that wasn’t going to be there, but there was no announcement for this author and there was a significant line. I was a little sad, but whatever I got over it.

I got Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 7.41.25 PMto meet Nicola Yoon and have her sign my copy of Everything Everything, which is an amazing book that I highly recommend. She was super sweet and we took a picture together. She posted the picture in a collage on her instagram, which was super awesome.

I also got signed More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera, who was adorable and personalized my book in the cutest way. I love when authors do more than just a generic quote; it makes the experience so much more memorable. I haven’t read that book, but his friendship with Becky Albertalli author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda gives me life because of how much I love that book.

Liza Wiemer author of Hello? was a sweetheart and the first author that I went to when the event started. She was really welcoming and nice. I hadn’t read her book yet, but she makes me need to read it right away. Also, I signed her copy of Hello? that she brings to every signing for readers to sign. That was such a cool thing and if I ever publish a book I totally want to do that.

Lastly, I got the book that I’m currently reading signed by the author. Lindsay Smith was really nice and has an awesome phone case that matches her book (Nicola Yoon’s phone case is her cover as well). Dreamstrider is really good so far and I’m ready to get even further into the world.

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 7.42.47 PMThere was an hour in which there where no books that Alexis or I wanted to get signed and we went to a stationary store across the street and a bakery, City Bakery. This is the chocolate cheese cake a cappuccino that we both got. Eh, the cheesecake wasn’t that great but the cappuccino was good.

I definitely plan on going this signing again next year. It was so much and I loved just talking to random booknerds because they understand the obsession.

 

One thought on “NYC Teen Author Festival Book Signing Recap

  1. Hi there! Reading all about your experience of a well-organized signing is making me feel a little jealous for the sole reason that it’s never like that here in the Philippines (lol). Even if we enjoy all the bookish events that our local bookstores host, we still dream of a well-organized event. On a different note, I’m so glad you got to meet both Nicola, and Adam! I dream of meeting them someday as well! Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

