Fear The Walking Dead 2×05 “Captive” | Episode Review

 

This was probably one of the best Fear The Walking Dead episodes yet. We finally got some development in Alicia’s character, Chris had another melt down, and Jesse McCartney was fantastic. Something actually happened in the past two episodes.

Fear-The-Walking-Dead-2x05-Promo-Carlost-2016-640x360

I knew that Alycia Debnam-Carey was a great actress from The 100, but it was great to see her finally spread her wings in this episode. She walked this fine line of whether she was manipulating Jack or if she liked him. I am excited for the Alicia, with an i, character arc. She has seen a lot of growth already and I want to see the badass Walking Dead type of character than I know she can play.

 

Fear-the-Walking-Dead-S02E05

 

Nick is still my favorite character on this show. He tells it like it is. I think this is the first episode where Madison is able to realize that this life or death world was something he was accustomed to before there were zombies. He does what is needed with intelligence and humor. I think this is the kind of detailed character this show needs more of.

 

1089314794-Fear-The-Walking-Dead-S02E05-Captive-Trailer

 

I didn’t realize that Reed was played by Jesse McCartney until this episode, him and his “Beautiful Soul” were fantastically evil. I could barely recognize him with the such a full face. I think it is great that we are finally seeing hardened characters who are just doing what it takes to survive. Who knows Reed might have fit in well into Walking Dead.

 

ftwds2e5-2

I really am done with Chris and his grieving process. I’m glad he shot Reed because he deserved it, but he totally lied on why. Chris keeps screwing things up. This episode did show how fantastic Daniel is. I think he should be leading this group. Madison did show that she has more leadership material than her boyfriend.

3_e0c7f161bb

This was an Alicia episode and I hope that it will lead on a path that gives her more agency as a character. She is will do what she has to survive. Also, this is how I am justifying her character’s exit on The 100.

 

Rating: 8/10 (For Alycia Debnam-Carey)

Fear the Walking Dead airs Sundays at 9pm on AMC

Leave a Reply

