Unrivaled by Alsyon Noel| Spoiler Free Review

Title: Unrivaled

Author: Alyson Noel

Genre: Young Adult Thriller

Rating: 4/5

Everyone wants to be someone. Layla Harrison wants to be a reporter. Aster Amirpour wants to be an actress. Tommy Phillips wants to be a guitar hero.

But Madison Brooks took destiny and made it her own a long time ago.

She’s Hollywood’s hottest starlet, and the things she did to become the name on everyone’s lips are merely a stain on the pavement, ground beneath her Louboutin heel.

That is, until Layla, Aster, and Tommy find themselves with a VIP invite to the world of Los Angeles’s nightlife and lured into a competition where Madison Brooks is the target. Just as their hopes begin to gleam like stars through the California smog, Madison Brooks goes missing. . . . And all of their hopes are blacked out in the haze of their lies.

I will do my best to keep this review spoiler free!

This book was beyond amazing. It’s a thriller/mystery set in Hollywood and centered around three teens with big dreams and a famous actress. Each character is different, which makes the quadruple POV easy to follow. I do have to say, none of the characters I liked very much, but that didn’t stop me from tearing through the book. This book had everything: glitz, sex, lies, betrayals, and murder.

Normally, I don’t venture out of my romance genre, but I am so glad that I did. From page one, this book kept me intrigued. When it turned into a murder mystery, I was quite shocked. I definitley did not see it coming. Which brings me to my next point, I had no idea what would happen throughout the book. Each twist and turn was a surprise to me.

Let’s get to the characters:

Layla: She’s an aspiring journalist and a little too crazy for my taste. There was something about her that I just didn’t like. Layla was pretty shady and menacing.

Tommy: He was such a dud. I didn’t like him because his personality was just boring.

Aster: Talk about a hot mess. This girl had some serious issues and ego problems. I get it, she had a dream, but seriously.

Madison: I actually kind of liked Madison. She has a back story that you can’t help but feel bad for her.

The cliffhanger left me staring at my book. I was stunned at the outcome! I need book 2 asap. Overall, Alyson Noel engages the readers and weaves an exciting story. Highly recommend to young adult genre fans and those who like reading about the nitty, gritty Hollywood lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

